Jeremy Butterfield

Making words work for you

Charlotte Bronte’s last love letter

1 Comment

Fascinating piece of literary detection.

Rereading Jane Eyre

‘To forbid me to write to you, to refuse to answer me, would be to tear from me from my only joy on earth, to deprive me of my last privilege _ a privilege I shall never consent willingly to surrender. Believe me, my master, in writing to me it is a good deed that you will do. So long as I believe you are pleased with me, so long as I have hope of receiving news from you, I can be at rest and not too sad.’

The last known love letter Charlotte Bronte wrote to her ‘master’, the man she fell madly in love with in her early twenties, her Belgian professor, Constantin Héger, was written on 18th November 1845,exactly 169 years ago, tomorrow.

M Héger M Héger

What do we know of the love life of the woman who penned one of the greatest love stories ever written?…

View original post 1,039 more words

Author: Jeremy Butterfield

Editor of Fowler's Dictionary of Modern English Usage. Writer, wordsmith, copywriter, copy-editor and lover of words. I provide editing, web copywriting, and marketing copywriting services in the Central Belt of Scotland, including Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh and surrounding areas, as well as throughout the UK. You can find me on Twitter @JezzB2.

One thought on “Charlotte Bronte’s last love letter

  1. Thank yoy for reblogging! Glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

